more G-Labs products

Author Topic: PushBullet (PushingBox alternative)  (Read 7814 times)

May 05, 2015, 09:02:40 AM
Read 7814 times

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
Since I've moved back to Android from Windows and I'm now using PushBullet for PC -> phone notifications I decided to integrate PushBullet into Homegenie.

You can associate modules with PushBullet or call it independently with the following code:
Code: [Select]
var pushBullet = Modules.InDomain("HomeAutomation.Network.Pushbullet").WithAddress("1").Get();
pushBullet.Command("Send").Set("Message to send.");

Here's more info:
https://www.pushbullet.com/
« Last Edit: June 02, 2015, 08:39:04 PM by mvdarend »

May 12, 2015, 08:08:41 AM
Reply #1

thundergreen

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
hey  all. is there any possibility to use.this addon with xmpp / jabber ? I have my own xmpp server running and would just like.to integrate some events via xmpp like motion control or notifications when some sensors have an alert. Is that possible in some way? would highly appreciate


May 12, 2015, 09:02:01 AM
Reply #2

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
To be honest, I have no idea how  xmpp / jabber works.

A quick Google search for "xmpp / jabber pushbullet" doesn't help much, it looks like you need a third party app (Zapier, Cloudpipes) to get them to communicate.

May 12, 2015, 11:46:13 AM
Reply #3

thundergreen

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
hi all. i try to make HG communicate with mqtt and xmpp. maybe this can be an idea.. i'm a newbie in linux and don't know how to realize this, but it should be possible and it would be great if someone could write a plugin for HG?

http://ceit.uq.edu.au/content/using-xmpp-home-and-building-automation-first-post

http://ceit.uq.edu.au/system/files/blog/41194386_-_Thesis_Proposal_-_Using_XMPP_in_Home_and_Building_Automation.pdf


June 02, 2015, 08:43:03 PM
Reply #4

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
I've added a new .hgx file with the following line added to ignore any certificate warnings:
Code: [Select]
ServicePointManager.ServerCertificateValidationCallback += (sender, certificate, chain, sslPolicyErrors) => true;
I was getting a 'Error getting response stream (Write: The authentication or decryption has failed.): SendFailure' error and mozroots --import --ask-remove wasn't helping. So I decided to just trust the certificate.

June 03, 2015, 01:03:01 PM
Reply #5

kevin1

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 330
Just curious, is there an advantage of PushBullet over sending text messages via email?

June 03, 2015, 01:38:09 PM
Reply #6

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
Just curious, is there an advantage of PushBullet over sending text messages via email?
For me the main advantage is that PushBullet 'Alerts' are separate from my emails. (I don't like my email cluttered with other messages.)

But, in the end it's just another way to send a message (although PushBullet can do more than just messaging),  some people prefer WhatsApp over Email, others prefer texting :)

August 17, 2015, 08:35:29 PM
Reply #7

KaZe

  • ****
  • Information
  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 219
Hi!

It's nice program. Works fine. But, can I change character encoding?

The program send me that:

Code: [Select]
Riaszt� rendszer �les�tve!
Riaszt� rendszer �les�tve!

but really like this:
Code: [Select]
Riasztó rendszer élesítve!
Riasztó rendszer élesítve!

August 18, 2015, 07:07:45 AM
Reply #8

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
Quote
But, can I change character encoding?
I don't know... I'll see if I can find something. A quick Google search for Pushbullet and encoding doesn't help me much, and I don;t have much experience with character encoding.

If all else fails I can strip the diacritics before sending, is that an option for you?

eg:
Riasztó rendszer élesítve!
will become
Riaszto rendszer elesitve!

August 18, 2015, 10:30:44 AM
Reply #9

KaZe

  • ****
  • Information
  • Sr. Member
  • Posts: 219
Thanks!

But I have the same problem with mirage. :( ( http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=1031.0 )

I'll wait a bit to see if Gene knows what's wrong.

August 21, 2015, 08:53:39 PM
Reply #10

Bitcraze

  • ***
  • Information
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 73
Hi, mvdarend

I am running latest HG (493) on Windows.

Have added your pushbullet and copied and pasted my pushbullet Access Token.

On my one light switch, I selected pushbullet and ticket Notifications Change.

Issue: Not working, no Notification received on my Android cellular for pushbullet app?

Any help will be much appreciated.

August 21, 2015, 09:08:10 PM
Reply #11

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
Hi BitCraze,

I just tested it on my Windows test machine (v.493) with a Philips Hue light and a Virtual switch and both worked for me.

Can you send test messages from the PushBullet site to your mobile device?

Is it possible that your firewall is blocking outgoing traffic?

Can you double check the access token?

August 31, 2015, 04:39:51 PM
Reply #12

Bitcraze

  • ***
  • Information
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 73
Hi, mvdarend

Checked PushBullet: Using correct Access Token in HG (copied and pasted).

Tested PushBullet web link to my phone: Received.

HG: Added "TestPB" virtual switch: Seems greyed out. Nothinh happens when clicked.

August 31, 2015, 04:43:04 PM
Reply #13

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
HG: Added "TestPB" virtual switch: Seems greyed out. Nothinh happens when clicked.
Could you add a screenshot of that?

Have you also tried temporarily disabling the firewall on the HomeGenie machine?
« Last Edit: September 01, 2015, 09:22:58 AM by mvdarend »

September 22, 2015, 05:14:35 PM
Reply #14

Bitcraze

  • ***
  • Information
  • Full Member
  • Posts: 73
Hi, mvdarend

It's running on a Windows PC. Have disabled Firewall and tested: No change.

Works from PushBullet website to my Android phone.

My test button is attached. Nothing happens when clicked.
« Last Edit: September 22, 2015, 05:34:41 PM by Bitcraze »