more G-Labs products

Author Topic: comandare un Ethernet Relay Modules con homegenie  (Read 3119 times)

April 25, 2015, 09:20:19 AM
Read 3119 times

bibbi1969

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
Hello I wanted to know if it was possible and how to control a relay 'ethernet http://www.robot-electronics.co.uk/htm/eth002tech.htm
 thanks

April 25, 2015, 03:04:46 PM
Reply #1

dani

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 535
This card is expensive for only two relais.
If you are using Raspi, why do you not used that card (8 relais) and very cheap, but only 10A under 250V.
http://www.amazon.fr/relais-module-canaux-Arduino-Electronique/dp/B00GSY3XGA
I am using for control 8 heater of 1500W under 250V.

Easy to use with Raspi and HG.

Cheers
Dani

April 25, 2015, 10:49:24 PM
Reply #2

bibbi1969

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
thanks for the tip, but I wanted to use that card already 'in my possession with HomeGenie and' possibbile?

April 30, 2015, 02:56:28 PM
Reply #3

kevin1

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 330

The relay board you are asking about has good documentation on the webpage and also a C# example.  The webpage shows examples using http commands , so it should be easy to do this with HomeGenie:

Code: [Select]
192.168.0.200/io.cgi?DOA2=10
This would use the default address (192.168.0.200) and make output 2 active for 1 second.
Another example would be to set output 1 inactive for 10 seconds:
192.168.0.200/io.cgi?DOI1=10

So in HomeGenie something like:
Code: [Select]
Net.WebService("192.168.0.200/io.cgi?DOA2=10")
How do you guys safely use these high voltage AC relays?  I'm fine tinkering around with 5V, but I don't know about using 120VAC without a UL approved enclosure.  Are there any cheap UL approved/enclosed 120VAC relays/switches that could be controlled via a low voltage output signal arduino/rpi?






April 30, 2015, 04:12:01 PM
Reply #4

bkenobi

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1525
My 120VAC enclosures are usually whatever box the local home center caries.  That's either some form of 1-gang box for Arduino or a multi-gang or external weather tight type for larger projects.  You can even go with a metal type similar to a mains panel if you want, but they tend to be more expensive.  Ebay probably has workable enclosures, but I suspect a UL rating won't be available from that path.