more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Windows Phone / Store app  (Read 10463 times)

October 08, 2014, 08:42:24 AM
Read 10463 times

NicoVermeir

• Information
    • My blog
Hi guys & girls,

been running HomeGenie for a couple of weeks now, works great!

I want to help the project out and since I'm a Windows Phone developer I think I can help the most with the WP app. I forked it on GitHub and starting working on it.

What I currently did:

- extracted a bunch of server calls into a portable SDK project (easier to port to other platforms)
- reworked the UI a bit to have a more "metro" look
- started implementing a template selector & different templates for the modules

what I plan on doing:
- add Universal app (Windows Phone 8.1 and Windows 8.1)
- add Cortana support
- add Geofencing
- improve UI

some questions that I have to the HomeGenie owner:
- does this fall in line with your roadmap for the app? if not, does it now? ;-)
- if I put more work into this and create a pull request on GitHub, is there a chance that it'll get accepted (just making sure that I'm not wasting my time :))

question to the other WP app users:
- any feature requests? :)

thanks!

PS: as a reference, here's my latest WP app http://www.windowsphone.com/nl-be/store/app/library-of-eorzea/9dfe5218-aa0c-4428-b114-06c3285c9087
and I blog about WP development at http://www.spikie.be
« Last Edit: November 17, 2014, 02:55:09 PM by NicoVermeir »

October 08, 2014, 08:07:03 PM
Reply #1

mvdarend

• Information
Hi Nico,

I downloaded the Windows Phone code as well in the weekend, but unfortunately haven't been able to invest much time into looking at it. If you need anyone to test your new code I'll be glad to help (I have a Lumia 520 and 1520 to test with)

A few things I've noticed with the current app (and the reason I downloaded the source to see if I could fix it)