more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Setting up custom hardware help  (Read 2431 times)

April 16, 2014, 07:01:48 PM
Read 2431 times

betgear

• Information
Hi,

I'm very new to HomeGenie, and a little frustrated in trying to get to grips with getting the system up and running and looking for some pointers.

I have no zwave or X10 hardware, and initially I am trying to control some relays controlled over http to an arduino with network shield.

I've programmed the arduino to switch relays on and off controlled by a post request, I've also coded a getStatus request into the arduino to return a string indicating the current status of the relays. I can control the relays just fine using a webbrowser, but would like to move this functionality to HomeGenie.

Ideally I want the switched ON/OFF confirmation to be verified by the arduino, do I get the arduino to send it's status to a specific HG url, or does HG poll the arduino for its status.

I can tailor the code in the arduino to a format that is acceptable to HG (presumably json).

Currently I can send a request to the arduino IP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx?relay{relay number 0-F){X-on|O-off} and I can request a status xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx?status which returns a string of 1's and 0 indicating the relay switched status for every relay I have.

How would I approach adding this functionality into HG?

I appreciate this is a bit of a big ask, but I don't mind documenting the whole process and supplying the code and circuit diagrams once I've got things working to help others out.

Arduino control is very cheap with arduino clone, Network shield and 8 relay board costing less than £15 in total.

Any help most appreciated.

Forgot to mention I do know c#

Cheers

Glen.

« Last Edit: April 17, 2014, 10:15:21 PM by betgear »

April 16, 2014, 07:34:32 PM
Reply #1

Gene

• Information
  • Administrator
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer