more G-Labs products

Author Topic: SmartControl  (Read 5917 times)

June 02, 2014, 10:15:40 PM
Reply #15

Boeky

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 31
Hi Gene,

Ok the problem seems to be the Level function itself...
Does it wait for a response of the X10 USB module? Because it is not connected at the time...

LOGBOOK
Code: [Select]
22:12:33.483 Program.Status Idle 1002 HomeAutomation.HomeGenie.Automation
22:12:13.448 Status.Level 0.7 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:12:03.332 Status.Level 0.74 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:53.315 Status.Level 0.78 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:43.357 Status.Level 0.82 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:43.357 Status.Level 0.82 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:33.340 Status.Level 0.86 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:23.324 Status.Level 0.9 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:14.305 Status.Level 0.95 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:11.499 Status.Level 1 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:11:11.475 Program.Status Running 1002 HomeAutomation.HomeGenie.Automation

June 02, 2014, 10:37:40 PM
Reply #16

Boeky

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 31
Hi Gene,

I connected the CM15PRO USB Module and now it seems to work much much faster.
So I guess the Level function waits for a response somehow?
Why exactly is there 1 second between the the comands as there is no Pause(1) programmed?

LOGBOOK / Testcode Dimmer
Code: [Select]
22:28:07.141 Program.Status Idle 1002 HomeAutomation.HomeGenie.Automation
22:28:05.637 Status.Level 0 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:28:03.623 Status.Level 0.7 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:28:02.718 Status.Level 0.74 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:28:01.712 Status.Level 0.78 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:28:00.707 Status.Level 0.82 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:27:59.802 Status.Level 0.86 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:27:58.777 Status.Level 0.9 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:27:57.271 Status.Level 0.95 B1 HomeAutomation.X10 (7 seconds ? Not Always there)
22:27:50.431 Status.Level 1 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:27:50.191 Program.Status Running 1002 HomeAutomation.HomeGenie.Automation

LOGBOOK / Press & hold function
Code: [Select]
22:42:00.392 Status.Level 0 5 Components.MCP23017 (RELEASE)
22:41:59.788 Status.Level 0.38 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:58.783 Status.Level 0.42 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:57.778 Status.Level 0.46 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:56.873 Status.Level 0.5 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:55.868 Status.Level 0.54 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:54.863 Status.Level 0.58 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:53.943 Status.Level 0.62 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:52.938 Status.Level 0.66 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:52.30 Status.Level 0.7 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:51.25 Status.Level 0.74 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:50.20 Status.Level 0.78 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:49.115 Status.Level 0.82 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:48.110 Status.Level 0.86 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:47.105 Status.Level 0.9 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:46.400 Status.Level 0.95 B1 HomeAutomation.X10
22:41:44.320 Status.Level 1 5 Components.MCP23017 (PRESS &HOLD)


Thanks again for the great support,
Christophe
« Last Edit: June 02, 2014, 10:47:27 PM by Boeky »

June 02, 2014, 11:31:23 PM
Reply #17

Gene

  • *****
  • Information
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1472
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer
Hi Boeky,

yes HG waits for acknowledge message from the interface after sending a command.
It will wait for a maximum time of 5 seconds.

You and bkenobi are making me think that another approach could be to ignore the acknowledge message and just wait 500ms before sending the next command, regardless of the ack (I already tested that CM15 can do this, while CM11 cannot ignore acks).
If you want, I can post a modified version of XTenLib for you to test.

Cheers,
g.


June 03, 2014, 12:13:03 AM
Reply #18

Boeky

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 31
Hi Gene,


Yes i'm interested in a modified XTenLib dll file as long as you can provide me with some installation instructions on a raspbian pi 2 as my linux skills are far from good :-)
The pause of 1 second (altough it is not programmed) between the dim steps are making the dimming not fluent... so changing to burst commands will definately fasten up things.

As I already told in http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=222.0 I am using twm4 x10 modules behind my buttons. They are sending Dim(5) or Bright (5) commands way faster then 500ms on the 230V net and ActiveHome (software for the CM15pro) is handling this very fast...

Also the LW12 x10 dimmers store the last dim level. When you turn on an x10 dimmer with homegenie, homegene resets the level to 100 with only sending the on command. The lw12 receives the on command and turns on to the last level dim level so they are out of sync (except if you use the always bright to 100 option of course)

It is possible to ask the current level status with extended x10 codes (but not all x10 modules support this, only the expensive ones)
Is there any way homegenie can sync the level when turning on a dimmer module?

Thanks already for all your help,
Kind Regards,

Christophe.

June 03, 2014, 12:25:59 AM
Reply #19

bkenobi

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1525
Swapping the library is easy once you get the file on the Raspberry Pi.  I installed Samba to do this, but it requires some steps.  If there's a way to use wget from Raspi, things would be much simpler.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2014, 04:43:11 PM by bkenobi »

June 06, 2014, 08:22:45 AM
Reply #20

Boeky

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 31
Hi Gene,


Any news for the modified XTenLib already?


Thanks,
Christophe.

June 06, 2014, 07:55:38 PM
Reply #21

Gene

  • *****
  • Information
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1472
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer
Hi Christope,

it will take some time since right now I'm taking care of some other tasks.
Let you know.

Cheers,
g.