more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Is HG dying?  (Read 3235 times)

October 15, 2016, 02:37:21 PM
Read 3235 times

raptorjr

• Information
Being totally new to HG maybe this is a hard question to ask, but I need to know.

I'm new to this whole automation thing. It takes a lot of time to automate your house or other things. The heart of all this is the controller. And jumping from one controller to another isn't a good investment in time. So I have for several months looking for the right one. When found, put down the time it takes to learn all the features and being able to customize it to my needs.

HG really seems to be a very powerful and flexible controller. And it looks good too. Although it is hard to find the information on what it can do and how to do it. But I'm beginning to scratch the surface.

But doing so, and reading the forums, I feel it is a little bit sad that there isn't much activity here. And there doesn't seem to have been much progress since the last beta version.

Software is never done. There is always bugs to fix and features to add. Done software is dead software. I don't want to offend anyone and I fully understand that this is open source and anyone can fix bugs and add features. But that doesn't help much if no one does.
I also understand that Gene made this for himself for his own purpose, but made it such a way that others could use it too. And as I said, it is a well done job. And I understand if Gene is satisfied with what he has done. But if Gene don't have the time or interest anymore HG will slowly die.

So is there a future for HG? Is there anyone besides Gene that think this is fun and knows the code good enough to fix bugs and add features? I really hope so, and if I was even close to the skills of Gene and others that have contributed to HG I would help too.

Is it worth to spend time learning everything HG can do? Will HG have evolved in 3,6,12 months?

October 15, 2016, 06:54:56 PM
Reply #1

mvdarend

• Information