more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Universal Remote Control UI For Lirc Send  (Read 5986 times)

July 13, 2014, 08:29:36 PM
Read 5986 times

jjr

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
Hi Gene
 Can i say "thank you for your work" this is the best open source home automation software i have come across. I hope i can contribute to this project in one way or another as it develops. I have been messing around with the lirc send and receive and would like to have a universal remote control user interface, or just virtual buttons, so i can assign ir send commands and macros to individual buttons. I hope this makes sense

July 13, 2014, 08:55:03 PM
Reply #1

Gene

  • *****
  • Information
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1472
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer
In latest hg release when you add a program to a control group it will shows up both as a button in the group view and also in the actions menu.
So you have always a quick access to the program.

Cheers,
g.

July 14, 2014, 08:45:36 PM
Reply #2

jjr

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
Hi cheers for the quick response. I see what you mean now even thou i can't get the c# code example working and i'm not having any luck with the wizard scripting either. When i do add the code program module i can see the button thanks. Could you advise me where im going wrong with your code example. I can send IR commands in terminal and every thing works fine. For example: pi@raspberrypi~$ irsend SEND_ONCE Toshiba_CT-90298 vol_up

But when i try the C# code:

var lirc = Modules.InDomain("Controllers.LircRemote").WithName("IR");
lirc.Command("Remotes.IrSend").Execute("lirc_rpi/vol_up");

I get nothing.
I have tried changing: WithName("IR"); to WithName("Toshiba_CT-90298");
I've also changed Execute("mceusb/VolUp") to Execute("lirc_rpi/vol_up");
What am i missing?
« Last Edit: July 14, 2014, 09:23:19 PM by jjr »

July 14, 2014, 10:14:28 PM
Reply #3

Gene

  • *****
  • Information
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1472
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer
- create a new wizard script
- click on "Capture" button under the commands list
- press some buttons on the ir remote

you should see all the IRSEND commands sequence.

- save the new wizard script
- try to run and see if it's working

Cheers,
g.

July 14, 2014, 11:21:22 PM
Reply #4

jjr

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
The wizard script runs then goes idle but no RF signal is sent. I have tried various different combination with wizard scripts I've even tried to assign a push button on mcp23017 to trigger the captured button (yes i can capture ok). Am i right in assuming for IR send i should be creating the wizard in programme instructions? As programme conditions is used for IR receive. Please bear in mind i am a noob and am probably missing the obvious.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2014, 09:32:16 PM by jjr »

August 07, 2014, 09:53:21 PM
Reply #5

jjr

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
Hi i still can't get ir send to work with hg. The only thing that looks different in the code to what im entering into the command line is the ""

 commands += """ + request.GetOption(c) + "" ";
                    c++;
                }
                ShellCommand("irsend", "SEND_ONCE " + commands);

When i receive an ir command hg seems to add a "" between the ir remote device name and the ir command. Which doesn't work from command line.

ie: "irsend SEND_ONCE Toshiba_CT-90298 vol_up" WORKS minus the colon's
but "irsend SEND_ONCE Toshiba_CT-90298vol_up" DOESN'T WORK

Anybody else got ir send working?



August 08, 2014, 07:17:49 AM
Reply #6

Jens

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 211
Yes, irsend works perfect for me. The only issue I was having was the version of the raspian image. The version has to be > 3.12.18+, in lower versions there is a timing issue.

regards
Jens

August 13, 2014, 10:47:19 PM
Reply #7

Jens

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 211
Hi jjr,

i did another test today with r410 and you are right, no IR Signal is sent, receive works again.

I cannot tell when it stopped working, but it has been working earlier

Jens

August 14, 2014, 01:55:47 AM
Reply #8

Gene

  • *****
  • Information
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1472
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer
Yep IR send was broken. It should be fixed in r411 (available from ui update manager).
I couldn't test it right now though.

Cheers,
g.

August 14, 2014, 09:23:40 AM
Reply #9

Jens

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 211
Yes it is back working, thanks a lot.

Regards
Jens

August 19, 2014, 07:12:48 PM
Reply #10

jjr

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
Yeah all my ir send wizard scripts now work. Thanks gene your amazing

August 19, 2014, 09:06:19 PM
Reply #11

Jens

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 211
Hi jjr,

it just worked once or twice for me and stopped working again. Can you please have a look at my post in bugs/testing -any idea what to test? Irreceive works withput any issues

Thanks
Jens

August 19, 2014, 09:52:46 PM
Reply #12

jjr

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
Hi Jens
Your setup might be different to mine. Are you using a usb ir device or a homebrewed tsop ir receiver? Im using a tsop home-brewed breadboard setup.

August 20, 2014, 08:49:29 PM
Reply #13

Jens

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 211
I am using TSOP receiver and IR LED for irsend. Receive is no problem at all, send is no problem from os level, but it does not work via HG wizard script. How does your script for sending look like, can you post a screenshot?

Regards
Jens

August 20, 2014, 10:30:59 PM
Reply #14

jjr

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 15
Here's a screenshot
« Last Edit: August 20, 2014, 10:54:27 PM by jjr »