more G-Labs products

Author Topic: ADD custom IR remote codes to HG database  (Read 3831 times)

August 31, 2014, 07:39:27 AM
Read 3831 times

MadHouse

• Information
Hello guys,

i am trying to control my A/C trough HG linked with fibaro motion sensor/temperature, i am a total noob on this and i have been looking around the way to do it but could anyone tell me how to add a custom made remote code to the HG database so we can select it from the IR pop out menu?

Thanks

August 31, 2014, 06:49:02 PM
Reply #1

Jens

• Information
  • Global Moderator
Hi MadHouse,

this is quite easy

- stop homegenie: sudo /etc/init.d/homegenie stop
- stop lirc: sudo service lirc stop
- the important file is /etc/lirc/lircd.conf
- now record your commands: sudo irrecord -n -d /dev/lirc0 mycommands
- once you're done copy the content of my commands into lircd.conf (or rename my commands to it)
- if you want to include more than one remote you have to add the part from begin remote until end remote (including these statements) into lircd.conf for each remote
- restart lirc: sudo service lirc restart
- start homegenie: sudo /etc/init.d/homegenie start
- enable lirc in interfaces (do not try to add another remote! via homegenie settings)
- sometimes you have to: sudo reboot the box

You have to have an ir receiver and sender connected to homegenie (in my example via GPIO Pins). In wizard scripts you can capture now with the original remote the program instructions for IRsend.

Regards
Jens

August 31, 2014, 10:41:06 PM
Reply #2

MadHouse

• Information
Ok, Thanks a lot Jens, very well explained, i will test and let you know.

Anyhow why is that i shouldn´t try to add another remote via homegenie settings?

Regards.

September 01, 2014, 07:07:36 AM
Reply #3

Jens

• Information
  • Global Moderator