more G-Labs products

Author Topic: BEGINNER - Help with sending email from HG  (Read 5894 times)

May 25, 2014, 03:27:16 AM
Read 5894 times

gustavoringler

• Information
Hi guys,
I am a beginner with HG...and so far I am pleasantly surprised with its capabilities.

Could somebody help me to understand what needs to be done in order to have HG send an email, triggered by an event in a scene ?

I would assume that an SMTP email account needs to be set in the "Email Account" program... (would Hotmail work ?)

But after doing this... what is the program instruction that has to be used to be able to send an email ?

Any help is welcomed !
Thanks !
Gus

May 25, 2014, 09:15:03 AM
Reply #1

mvdarend

• Information

I would assume that an SMTP email account needs to be set in the "Email Account" program... (would Hotmail work ?)

Correct, I haven't got a Hotmail account though, so I don't know if it will work. (But I assume it will)

Here's a code snippet in C#:
Code: [Select]
Net.SendMessage("[email protected]", "Subject here", "This is the message text." );

May 26, 2014, 01:23:45 AM
Reply #2

gustavoringler

• Information
Thanks mvdarend for your reply!

I would have to say that a C# snippet is way above my current skills...  :-[

What would be the program instruction (in a scene program) needed to invoke the email account program, to then get the email sent? (something like Automation-Email account - etcetera)

Thanks!

September 02, 2014, 01:32:49 PM
Reply #3

kevin1

• Information
It would be nice if HG could have a "test email" button on the email server configuration so we could rule out other issues and confirm the HG email setup is working.  Please :)

September 02, 2014, 05:16:32 PM
Reply #4

bkenobi

• Information
  • Global Moderator
You can make a test script with one line that will accomplish this.  Look at reference for "SendMessage".

September 02, 2014, 08:59:00 PM
Reply #5

kevin1

• Information