more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Thinking About Insteon Hub and Raspbery Pi (or another ARM like the Banana Pi)  (Read 7002 times)

November 18, 2014, 03:58:47 PM
Read 7002 times

prax

• Information
Hi all,

I am brand new to automation, and I have been researching as much information as possible the past few weeks. For now, I just want to set up a few lights so that I can control them with my android, but I like the idea of having something like a Raspberry Pi, Banana Pi, etc running 24/7 because I do not run my PC 24/7.

I am leaning towards Insteon (though I will consider Z-Wave) because at the moment, I only plan on changing 1-2 light switches to this:

http://www.smarthome.com/togglelinc-relay-insteon-2466sw-remote-control-on-off-switch-non-dimming-white.html

I do not like that the z wave on/off switches are all "fat" switches and not "regular" like the Insteon one. I have dozens of regular-sized switches in the house, so I think it would be awkward to have different looking switches, but it is just a minor issue at this point.

Anyway, I also saw that Insteon has some bulbs and I wouldn't have to get any sockets/switches if there was a bulb that I wanted to place somewhere.

I guess lately I have leaned towards that Insteon hub because I could buy myself two on-off switches, and the starter kit comes with either two dimmer modules or two on/off modules and I am picturing in my head the lights/lamps that I would use.

Now, I know that I could use my android phone to control the lights from the insteon hub when I am away from home, and that is the basic functionality that I want.

However, I also like the idea of having a 24/7 computer that interfaces with the insteon hub because I would like to set up some timers/events, such as if I am away on vacation or traveling on business, timing Christmas lights, etc.