more G-Labs products

Author Topic: A simple how-to would be fantastic  (Read 4551 times)

February 24, 2015, 12:48:37 PM
Read 4551 times

jasperhb

• Information
Hi,

I'm new to Home Genie. I have a Vera 3 today, but I'm not satisfied with the performance and stability of Vera.

I've tried to get started with HG a couple of times by adding a a couple of Z-Wave devices simple switch, a thermostat (Stella-Z) and a Multi sensor (Fibaro FGMS-001).

Adding the z-Wave swich went just find and I can turn it on/off. Wauv :-)

However the Thermostat does not show up on the Dashboard at all, nor does the Fibaro FGMS-001. Both get added as Z-Wave nodes just fine under "Configure->Settings->ZWave interface Option+Add Node", but that is it.

I get the sense that I'm missing some fundamentals about basic configuring of HG, but looking around the documentation and the forum all I've found so far are more advanced stuff.

Hence, a simple how-to would make a lot of sense.

I'm running HG on a BananaPi with a the AEON ZWave USB stick.

Thanks.

Rgds,
The Newbie
« Last Edit: February 24, 2015, 12:51:53 PM by jasperhb »

February 24, 2015, 04:31:13 PM
Reply #1

bkenobi

• Information
  • Global Moderator
I don't use zwave, so I can't help with that.  But as far as getting things to show up on the dashboard...make sure you add them in the "Groups and Modules" configuration menu.  If you add the widget for the thermostat, it should show up.  Even if it doesn't work/isn't configured correctly you should see something if the widget is added.

Also note that the thermostat is a relatively new addition and may still be in beta (haven't tested it as I don't have a smart thermostat).  From what I've read, it should work well but if there are any issues found, please report them to the forum.

February 24, 2015, 11:24:15 PM
Reply #2

jasperhb

• Information
Thanks.

What about the Fibaro MGMS-001 multi-sensor, which coveres: motion, light and temperature?