more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Help! Windows 10 firewall problem  (Read 1123 times)

April 16, 2016, 08:46:06 AM
Read 1123 times

abwyatt

• Information
Hi guys

I'm a HG newb. A long time AHP PLC/X10 user, now wanting to expand my home system using newer technologies like Z-Wave. Love how easy HG is to setup and use so far. No problems with connecting my existing CM15 module and setting up schedules/macros. And HomeGenie Plus (purchased it) looks like a lot of eye candy compared to X10 Commander which I've been using for years.

My problem is with the Windows 10 firewall, which on the surface seems so trivial but has frustrated all my attempts to troubleshoot over the last day or so. So I need a fresh pair of eyes/ears to hopefully get me out of my jam.

I note a few forum posts regarding problems with the Windows Firewall, but none of them have helped me after trying out the suggestions. Specifically:
http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=503.15
http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=564.0

Eventually I want to run HG off my QNAP Windows 10 VM. I initially did this troubleshooting on the Win 10 VM, but when I started having problems with the firewall, I've resorted to troubleshooting on my Windows 10 desktop. It has a fresh install of HG 515, and of course my Android mobile has the latest HG Plus.

Through a process of elimination, I narrowed the problem down to the Win10 firewall because I can access the HG service and interface from both the LAN and WAN (using my DDNS service) and from both my laptop and mobile as long as I turn off the Win10 firewall. As soon as I turn on the Win10 firewall, I lose access to HG.

What have I tried with the firewall? All the following tests I have done just on the LAN to eliminate any other complications.