more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Homegenie and Tado integration  (Read 1768 times)

January 05, 2015, 09:40:52 PM
Read 1768 times

chrispazz

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 38
If someone is interested and is able to do it, it could be interesting to integrate Tado thermostat with homegenie.

Here follows a link with some API infos:

http://c-mobberley.com/wordpress/2014/09/28/interacting-with-the-hidden-tado-thermostat-api/

I own Tado and it works good....

January 09, 2015, 04:59:13 PM
Reply #1

chrispazz

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 38
Ok, I started implementing a Tado interface module.

Tado works by interacting with main Tado web server (internet API) for reading thermostat data and also for setting operating mode and temperature so it is always an internet connection.

I would like to use the nice Generic Thermostat widget already present in HomeGenie but cannot understand if I have to duplicate the module and write a new one from that or if I can "use" the same module interfacing it to a Tado program.

I already did a module to interact with Tado server and I successfully got temperature and operating mode.

Any help is appreciated.

Chris

January 13, 2015, 05:03:03 PM
Reply #2

chrispazz

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 38
Nobody can give me some advice or example?

thank you!

January 13, 2015, 05:47:31 PM
Reply #3

bkenobi

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 1525
I'm not sure what you are asking for other than general guidance.  In regards to:

I would like to use the nice Generic Thermostat widget already present in HomeGenie but cannot understand if I have to duplicate the module and write a new one from that or if I can "use" the same module interfacing it to a Tado program.

I would not modify the original code directly.  Any time you update HG, that module will most likely be overwritten which will lose your modifications.  I would instead export that module and then import it with a new name.  Then, modify that as needed until you get the results you want.  As an example of doing that, I used Gene's Smart Lights script as a basic framework for implementing my Advanced Smart Lights script.  The two are not very similar at this point, but I believe if mine were striped down to about 25% of it's functionality, it would be very similar code wise.

January 13, 2015, 11:40:28 PM
Reply #4

chrispazz

  • **
  • Information
  • Jr. Member
  • Posts: 38
Hi bkenobi,

this is what I did. I exported general thermostat and reimported it with a new name....but I am not able to modify it like I want (I am a noob in C#).

What I have reached is that I have some HTTP calls to ask tado server for thermostat status and temperature and other HTTP calls to set it to different modes.
So now I need to modify General Thermostat so that every action can be addressed with issuing an HTTP call...

I hope that someone more skilled than me was interested too with TADO integration...

:)