more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Initial HG installation with zstick opens blank browser page at 192.168.0.18  (Read 3331 times)

December 15, 2014, 11:36:16 PM
Read 3331 times

whutchi

• Information
I'm a professional programmer with good debugging skills, but I'm ready to eat crow for being dumb here, since nobody else seems to have such a basic problem.  I have a z stick that I paired with a zwave module and installed the windows driver for it on my Windows 8 laptop, so it shows up in device manager. I downloaded the Windows version of HomeGenie and ran the installer, which seems to have installed correctly, so Task Manager shows HomeGenie Service, HomeGenie Manager, and HomeGenie.exe all running, with the little HomeGenie service icon in my taskbar.  But when I right click the icon and select open HomeGenie, it opens a browser page on 192.168.0.18 with nothing on the page. Same if I start from the Start menu.  I've done complete reinstalls with no improvement.
   This seems very odd since nobody else in the forum or other googling seems to have any problem opening the program correctly. I very much want to get it working, so appreciate all help.

December 16, 2014, 12:10:29 AM
Reply #1

Gene

• Information
  • Administrator
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer
Hi,

probably HomeGenie couldn't bind tcp port 80 (any other app using it?), so it might be running on port 8080 (or next available after that).
Unfortunately the HomeGenie manager which is supposed to open HG web page, has a bug:

https://github.com/genielabs/HomeGenie/issues/34

so if HomeGenie started on a different port, you'll have to find out somehow or perhaps by checking in the systemconfig.xml text file that is located in the HG program folder.

Cheers,
g.
« Last Edit: December 16, 2014, 12:12:03 AM by Gene »

December 16, 2014, 02:56:30 AM
Reply #2

whutchi

• Information