HomeGenie Forum

General Category => Troubleshooting and Support => Topic started by: domotica_user on September 12, 2015, 06:32:34 PM

Title: Adding automation
Post by: domotica_user on September 12, 2015, 06:32:34 PM
Hi all,

After adding my current hardware to Homegenie (and writing my first c# program) i now run into a requirement of mine: I would like to have automation "rules" to add "intelligence" to my appartment. E.g.:

- if the humidity is higher than x, switch on y
- if the temperature near the window below x degrees, increase the thermostate by 2 degrees

I cannot seem to find this. Surely this is possible, but how can i do this in HG?
Regards
Title: Re: Adding automation
Post by: kevin1 on September 12, 2015, 09:58:15 PM
I do this type of logic in my c# code.  not sure where the best place is. you could create a program just for your automation/rules. look at the security system module for how you can check for events happening, then perform some action.
Title: Re: Adding automation
Post by: domotica_user on September 12, 2015, 10:36:44 PM
Thanks. I guess the best way of doing this is "autolearning" using wizard script. That now works for me.
Title: Re: Adding automation
Post by: bkenobi on September 13, 2015, 06:33:12 AM
IMO, wizard scripts are good for simple actions with little logic.  If you want to do anything advanced, you need to use some kind of scripting.  HG has several languages to choose from, but I think you will find the most examples from C#.