more G-Labs products

Author Topic: My remote HomeGenie setup  (Read 1200 times)

August 08, 2016, 05:14:21 AM
Read 1200 times

Acorlin

• Information
I have been using Homegenie for a couple of years. I have a remote location that I want to keep an eye on and also to control certain electronic devices remotely. The location only has internet access via satellite so I must use LogMeIn as a remote control program under Windows 10. No static IP address at this joint.

To make matters worse power is not always on so I needed something that would turn back on after a power outage. There is sometimes a 20 second delay from clicking the mouse on my end to finally seeing something happen on the remote computer.

For a computer I picked up a refurbished HP Mini Model 200-010. It is a 64bit computer with a very small footprint. It has USB 3 ports and a HDMI port for the display. It also has firmware that will allow a complete automatic restart after a power outage. I installed extra memory and a SSD HD. The only drawback is that it has a small internal cooling fan so dust may be an issue for me in the future.

All of the devices controlled via HG are Zwave using an AEON Zwave USB stick.

I configured HG with 5 main groups—
Dashboard
Lights and Switches
Security
Cameras (No photo included.)
Garage Door

The Camera group will not show any P2P cameras I have so only the older Apexis jpeg cams function for me.

The Garage door page is a redundancy page. It is a 250 mile round trip to the location from my house. I made the mistake of leaving the garage door open one weekend.  I only noticed it when viewing one of the cameras when I returned home. A solution had to be found.