more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Whole home project.  (Read 995 times)

December 11, 2015, 01:40:42 AM
Read 995 times

kb1ojr

• Information
Ok so here is what I would like to accomplish, with as little cost as possible but also keeping somewhat simplicity in mind. I am not a programmer of this nature however I am a linux nut.

I have the following equipment.
Raspberry pi2 (I have a few of these)
Arduino UNO

What I would like to build. In order of priority

- A full featured weather station that reports to Wunderground,
This includes Temperature, humidity, precipitation and wind speed / direction.
(what would be the equipment I would need to do this, what do you use?)

- Also has internal temperature monitoring of 3 or more zones in the house.

- Pool Temperature monitoring

- (this might be a bit much but also PH, Chlorine, and whatever else a pool needs to have monitored)

- Pool motion detection (at the water level of the pool I am trying to figure out how I can add a motion sensor, so if something goes in that is not supposed to be in the pool I get a audible warning somewhere)

-Sensors for all the home windows and doors.

- possibly camera hook ups as well.

This is probably asking a lot being I know very little of how all this works, but this is what I think this thing can do.

I am going to start with temperature monitoring and see how it goes I figure that is the cheapest easiest start to get a feel for this. So far I have a TMP36 sensor for my Arduino, but I am unable to make it work. I also do not think this is going to be my going forward sensor. I am thinking of getting a few DH11 sensors. Any recommendation on starting out with monitoring temp with the gear I currently have or what else should I get to help. Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.

December 11, 2015, 02:06:23 AM
Reply #1

enterprised

• Information
  • Things are only impossible until they are not