more G-Labs products

Author Topic: What thermostat should I buy  (Read 1139 times)

October 28, 2016, 09:35:02 AM
Read 1139 times

gbremmer

• Information
I would like to have a thermostat that works with Homegenie. I live in the Netherlands and most boilers are equiped with OpenTherm which can send commands like low heat and high heat. But I would also like to have it implemented in HomeGenie.
I really like the Tado but Tado doens't support Z-wave. It does have an open API but i'm not a programmer.  Also had a look at Google Nest but the Nest doesn't support OpenTherm.

What are you using? Any advice what I should buy?

October 29, 2016, 08:06:11 AM
Reply #1

mvdarend

• Information
Also had a look at Google Nest but the Nest doesn't support OpenTherm.

Yes it does: https://nest.com/nl/thermostat/meet-nest-thermostat/

Nu met OpenTherm.

Nest maakt nu gebruik van OpenTherm-technologie om je HR-condensatieketel te moduleren. Daardoor behoudt je huis een constante temperatuur, zodat het nog comfortabeler wordt.

October 29, 2016, 08:03:59 PM
Reply #2

gbremmer

• Information
Thnx, Dit moet ik gemist hebben.. Ik zie dat er ook een geweldige plugin voor geschreven is. Werkt deze ook goed met Homegenie Plus?

October 30, 2016, 07:13:57 AM
Reply #3

mvdarend

• Information
Ik zie dat er ook een geweldige plugin voor geschreven is. Werkt deze ook goed met Homegenie Plus?

Quick translation to English:
I see that that a great plugin has been created [for the Nest]. Does this also work in HomeGenie Plus?

Probably not, but I haven't tried it (the Nest App). I know that Gene was planning a way to have custom widgets/templates from HG show up in the app but I don't think that it's ready yet.
« Last Edit: October 30, 2016, 07:37:09 AM by mvdarend »

November 02, 2016, 01:54:09 AM
Reply #4

Orkspalter

• Information
I just bought 4 eQ-3 HomeMatic wireless thermostates for 25,- euros a piece which is pretty cheap as the are selling normally for 38,-euros.