HomeGenie Forum

Automation Program Plugins and Wizard Scripting => Help => Topic started by: codedmind on September 13, 2014, 12:29:07 PM

Title: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 13, 2014, 12:29:07 PM
Hy there,

Before using HG i have my rpi with 3 DS18B20 sensors to check temperatures from my solar tank.

I use a python script to check the values, like adafruit examples for this sensor, i have three from this kind because this kind of sensors  can be placed in parallel

https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruits-raspberry-pi-lesson-11-ds18b20-temperature-sensing/overview

My question is how can i use the same script or should i do another one, and how, so i can have it working like the dh-11 sensor widget?

Thanks
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 06:28:33 AM
No one can help?

I would love some directions how to do a hello world widget/program in HG.

Thanks
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 11:34:55 AM
There should be two ways of reading 1-Wire sensors data:

1) use /sys/bus/w1/devices to access 1-wire sensors data. This way you could just create a Python app in HomeGenie and use thise code: https://www.modmypi.com/blog/ds18b20-one-wire-digital-temperature-sensor-and-the-raspberry-pi (https://www.modmypi.com/blog/ds18b20-one-wire-digital-temperature-sensor-and-the-raspberry-pi)

2) directly communicating with 1-wire devices through gpio by using low level communication as it happen with the DHT-11 program. This is a lot of code to write since it has to implement all 1-wire comm specifications. In the future 1-wire protocol might be implemented as part of the RasbperrySharp-IO library (that HG is using for low level gpio communication).

I thinks the quickest way would be the 1 one. Let me know progress about this.

Cheers,
g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 12:03:10 PM
I'm attacching the Python app so you can import it in HG.
The script just popup the current temp value. It doesn't currently implement a virtual module.

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 12:14:52 PM
Thank you gene,

Later i will post my progress

Thanks
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 12:20:34 PM
added modprobe commands to the script, the program will try to load required 1-wire modules first.

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 04:00:38 PM
Hy gene,

After import i change the sensor id but i get the following error
Runtime.Error = "CR: expected str, got tuple"

I try remove the first three lines, the ones inside """ but the error keep pop
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 04:13:36 PM
try changing last lines of the source code like this:

Code: [Select]


while True:
        values = read_temp()
        hg.Program.Notify("DS18B20", str(values[0]))
        time.sleep(5)
 


the read_temp() function is returning two values (array) with temperature celsius and fahrenheit, that was the problem.
Btw I'm attacching the updated program.
If this is working, then I'll add to the app a virtual sensor module, so it can be used like other hg modules.

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 04:27:20 PM
Working like a charm :D

If you can do the virtual module would be great :D

One more question, what you sugest, in my case i have three sensors, should i replicate this programs one, for each sensor or the virtual module can receive data for the three sensors, and change the program so it have parameters to set sensors id and sensor numbers?
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 05:47:32 PM
Added user-definable virtual modules (default 3).
User must specify sensor ID in the module options popup (see screenshot).
Let me know it it's working.

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 05:58:05 PM
This is awsome!! Great work

Make the following changes.

line 33 changed to 
    lines = temp_raw(sensorid)  #sensorid is missing in the function call

line 46 changed to
for n in range(1, sensorcount+1): #because range(1,3) returns only 2 numbers [1,2] and if we do sensorount+1 i get range (1,4) and the return is [1,2,3]
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 06:29:27 PM
did you import the program? did you also disable previously imported scripts?
(sorry for silly questions =D)

Unfortunately cannot test much because I haven't got that temp sensor.
But the problem should be at line 52. It shouldn't get there if you didn't specify the sensorid in the module options, so it shouldn't give that error.
We can try surrounding the read_temp with a try..exept.
Let me know if this work.

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 09:14:05 PM
Gene now is working... i edit my post, with the fix i made to make it running without errors!

It's perfect now
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 09:36:10 PM
I only want to know how can i modify somethings, for instance keep the time in the module the last update occur?
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 09:48:37 PM
I am not sure to understand what you're asking.
Some more example please :)

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 10:15:41 PM
The module show temperatureC and TemperatureF, and i would like have some time of datetime stamp to know the last time the values are updated.

For instance if i disable the program (or for some reason stop working) the modules keep show the last values and we will not know if they are current values or not.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 10:46:37 PM
All right... there was missing code in the sensor widget. I added it.
To update copy the attacched sensor.json file to the /usr/local/bin/homegenie/html/pages/control/widgets/homegenie/generic/ folder.
Then refresh the browser page and the date should appear like the screenshot.

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 11:18:53 PM
HG is crash after some time, and the the program reports errors...


"Line 0, Column 0 (Code to Run):
    Input string was not in the correct format"
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 20, 2014, 11:34:43 PM
Does it happen sometime when restarting the program or while it's running?
What do you mean that HG crash? Did you have to restart HG or just the program?

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 20, 2014, 11:37:18 PM
i must start HG because it stops... i try to understand what happen because everything has working... but then when i go try the new *.json file hg has stopped...

I start up and the the one wire program not run anymore, and report errors when i try update the script
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 12:19:06 AM
Do this have some type off cache? I remove the modules, i reset all hg and now i can't even run the first hgx you send me... all of them returns the same string error.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 12:37:50 AM
My bad, after chage the script i save and click run and i think that is the problem.. i do back and only then hit save... the script editor reports errors, but it is working again... let see if hg crash or no
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 08:08:08 PM
 :-[ Gene, the crash still occur, i can't identify why, but after some time homegenie stop working and i must start it again... before onewire program this don't happen
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 21, 2014, 09:01:51 PM
Looks like it is some issue related to mono / IronPython. I'll try updating IronPython libraries but this will require some time since latest IronLanguages release it is only available as source code.
Also I'll get one of these DS18B20 so I can make a real test.
By the way the same program can be written using C# so HG it would not crash.
Do you know how to translate the script code from Python to C#?

Cheers,
g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 09:03:31 PM
Not really.. i would prefer python :)

However if you can point me to some examples where i can see how to do c# in hg i can try :)
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 21, 2014, 09:56:49 PM
I'm doing it.
Please test the attached C# script and let me know if the app reads temperature values correctly.
You have to change the sensorid from the code at line #41.
If this is working I'll complete the script to work as the python one.

Cheers,
g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 10:08:04 PM
when try save the changes i get this

Line -16, Column 0 (Code to Run):
    Metadata file `Microsoft.CSharp.dll' could not be found
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 21, 2014, 10:24:51 PM
Missing some dependency? How did you install HG?
I'm attacching the completed version of the program.
I guess you cannot update any C# program? Can you try creating just a new empty c# program and compile it?

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 10:34:01 PM
i download and install the rpi version, before i run the apt command that is in the docs
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 21, 2014, 10:44:42 PM
Mmm... that's strange...
We can work around this though.
Copy the precompiled app file to /usr/local/bin/homegenie/programs/ folder.
But you must change the number in the filename to match your imported program ID number.
After that, you just enable or restart the app.

Cheers,
g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 21, 2014, 10:50:20 PM
One more question.. what version of RPi SD card did you download?

g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 10:53:27 PM
this file http://sourceforge.net/projects/homegenie/files/homegenie-beta_1.00.r403_all.deb/download (http://sourceforge.net/projects/homegenie/files/homegenie-beta_1.00.r403_all.deb/download)
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 10:57:11 PM
The program is working now
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on September 21, 2014, 11:06:37 PM
glad to hear that :)
let me know if there are some improvements we can make to it.

Cheers,
g.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 21, 2014, 11:22:04 PM
Ok i will

Next steps i will try and make a module to read same value in a webpage so i get the power consumption in watts

cheers
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: codedmind on September 27, 2014, 10:59:53 PM
Gene,

Can you send me some directions how to start a module? python/javscript or even c# i have an arduino in my rpi so i need to read serial port and i even have a webpage to scrap so i can get the consumption energy. I try all day find a way but no success.

Thanks
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Bitcraze on November 06, 2014, 04:29:59 PM
Hi, all

After I follow the AdaFruit hardware install of the DS18B20, What needs to be done in HG?

Can't seem to get it to work. On Pin 22 on RPI. Using Pin 4 for the DHT-11, which takes long before it's first reading after a RPI reboot.
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Gene on November 08, 2014, 01:11:26 AM
Hi Bitcraze,

did you try this app?

http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=351.msg2074#msg2074 (http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=351.msg2074#msg2074)

do not forget to load 1-wire modules first (either from a terminal or in /etc/modules):

Code: [Select]
modprobe w1-gpio
modprobe w1-therm

Cheers,
g.

Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Bitcraze on November 12, 2014, 05:06:08 PM
Hi, Gene

Still no luck.

Does the DS18B20 work by default in R416, with 1-wire enabled, or should I:

modprobe w1-gpio
modprobe w1-therm



Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Bitcraze on November 14, 2014, 04:04:08 PM
Hi, Gene

Should I also enable MCP3008, for this to work?
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Bitcraze on November 19, 2014, 08:55:00 AM
Hi, Gene

Ah, working great on GPIO 4! Have also managed to get working on GPIO 24, with and added entry in command.txt

1) Added this to startup file:
modprobe w1-gpio
modprobe w1-therm

2) Checked the ID
3) Entered the ID

Thanks so much Gene!
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: StatX on December 15, 2014, 08:11:47 PM
Hi there,

Is there a way to add more than 3 sensors ?
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: Marco on December 16, 2014, 07:46:20 PM
Hi StatX,
go to configuration, automation, devices and things, One-Wire Devices, change this value "Connected sensors number" (I tried with 5 sensor and work well) and restart.

then you can add the other sensors

My experience here: http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=423.msg2394#msg2394 (http://www.homegenie.it/forum/index.php?topic=423.msg2394#msg2394)


Marco
Title: Re: DS18B20 Sensors
Post by: StatX on December 16, 2014, 07:59:34 PM
ok thank You for reply as soon as i will get more sensors i will shurley try it :)