more G-Labs products

Author Topic: Password problem on windows  (Read 2275 times)

May 22, 2014, 08:29:32 PM
Read 2275 times

chas

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Just getting started, so I'll probably be here a lot.  But I have one problem that just stops me.  I'm trying to set a password from Maintenance -> password protected.  I'm running on windows until I get configuration going, then will probably go to a Raspberry pi. 

Whenever I try to set a password, the browser (chome, accessing localhost) will ask for a username and password in a security popup.  Whatever password I have tried to set is useless.  I haven't set a username (or maybe no password, the input box is truncated). But regardless, the password, the username, whatever, nothing works.  It is fortunate that I found the tip on editing systemconfig.xml to remove the password, but I'd really like to be able to set one before opening up the port outside my lan.  I just upgraded to beta R372, no joy.

Am I missing something really simple?

May 22, 2014, 08:50:06 PM
Reply #1

Gene

  • *****
  • Information
  • Administrator
  • Posts: 1472
  • Tangible is the future!
    • Yet Another Programmer
Enter "admin" as username and the password you choosed.

g.

May 23, 2014, 12:22:17 AM
Reply #2

chas

  • *
  • Information
  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Thanks,  thought it would be simple, why didn't "admin" come to mind?

chas

I'll press my luck,  got a pointer to an easy step by step on setting lights by timer and dusk-to-dawn?

thanks again.

May 23, 2014, 07:23:00 AM
Reply #3

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
I'll press my luck,  got a pointer to an easy step by step on setting lights by timer and dusk-to-dawn?


The easiest way is to open up the light properties and set the 'Control device on a given schedule', like so:

(http://www.homegenie.it/docs/images/hg_scheduler_03.jpg)

You can also use scripting for more control, eg:
Trigger at sunset:
Code: [Select]
// Put your trigger code logic here.
// Call 'hg.SetConditionTrue()' when you want
// the 'Code To Run' to be executed.
hg.SetConditionFalse();

var sunsetStart = hg.Scheduler.WithName("SolarAltitude.Evening.Sunset.Start");

if (sunsetStart.IsScheduling())
{
  hg.SetConditionTrue();
}

Trigger at 08:00:
Code: [Select]
// Put your trigger code logic here.
// Call 'hg.SetConditionTrue()' when you want
// the 'Code To Run' to be executed.
hg.SetConditionFalse();

if (hg.Scheduler.IsScheduling("00 8 * * *"))
{
    hg.SetConditionTrue()
}

Here is more info on scheduling:
http://www.homegenie.it/docs/scheduler.php

« Last Edit: May 23, 2014, 07:34:54 AM by mvdarend »

March 22, 2015, 04:34:43 PM
Reply #4

dani

  • *****
  • Information
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 535
Hi mdvarend,

I don't undesstand in which parameter or screen do you put ttat C# code !
Can you explain ?

Cheers
Dani

March 22, 2015, 07:14:03 PM
Reply #5

mvdarend

  • *****
  • Information
  • Hero Member
  • Posts: 431
Hi Danny,

I probably didn't explain it too well in my post. :) Well, it was almost a year ago and I was very new to HG.

What I meant was that you could use a program (scripting) instead of the built in 'Control device on a given schedule' to have a little more control. The code examples would go under the 'Trigger Code' tab.